Tags

, , , ,

What makes one drop-out inspired and the other an outcast?

I’m always shocked to hear when someone drops out, sad even.  I imagine them throwing their futures away, any hope of a happy family and a nice house gone, their middle-aged selves ridden with regret over the choices they made when they were young. Until I realized I wanted exactly what they had: freedom.

I can’t  bear the thought of going back to the confines of a campus, a dorm, a classroom.  The only reason I’m considering spring semester is because of my trip to Germany in March through the college.  But I hate college, and leaving was just what it took to make me realize that.

First off, I don’t hate college for the traditional reasons: that I’m lazy and despise authority.  I hate that I can’t decipher the benefit of four years, twenty classes, and $250,000 being put towards what society has dubbed “my education”.  Education, huh? Last year, I learned how to make a baggy T-shirt slutty, take a pregnancy test, cook Ramen, and obtain a fake ID. GOOD. I didn’t need to pay $50,000 to do that, at most that adds up to $100 (fakes are expensive, as are pregnancy tests).  My point is that it’s a big waste of money, and time, but at a whopping nineteen years old, I’ve got plenty of that to spare. Imagine what an inspired and creative girl can do with $175,000… the answer is either a lot of damage, or a lot of good. Take your pick.

To other people, I would just say, “stick it out, you’ll get a better job if you have a degree.” I don’t believe this is true in my case.  My major is foreign languages, spanish and french, and mind you I have one of each per semester. Doesn’t make a whole lot of sense for me to try to learn spanish in one class at Stonehill for $50,000 when I’m learning it in five classes in Argentina for $10,000.  Better yet, I’m not allowed to challenge myself with a fourth language, so I’m learning mandarin via iTunes podcast.  Thanks, all mighty university, you know best.

So would I have a better job if I continued feeding my alcoholism for the next two years of college? Perhaps superficially, but I truly believe I would be a more capable and competent employee and asset to a business if I was fluent in four languages and a drop out, than if I graduate somewhat incompetent with a dampened spirit after the drive and inspiration within me had been snubbed out like a cigarette.

Why would I spend money to work against what I’m ultimately trying to head towards?

My life isn’t a classroom, it isn’t shots on the weekends, it isn’t required religious knowledge.  My life is culture, language, fashion, business, and people.  That’s how my brain works and that’s what I’m good at and as it will seem unfortunate for some, that isn’t college.

